Knit One, Purl One


I have started knitting again, it was a favourite pastime of mine some years ago, but the needles have been ‘resting’ in a wardrobe for some time, but with all the gorgeous wools coming into the shops now, I thought I would start doing a few simple things again.  I like to knit while aimlessly watching something not-too-riveting on TV, or just catching up with some posts on my reader.

I made some ear/head warmers for my grandchildren, very simple straight knitting, they could have been hats if I kept going and did a bit of decreasing, but they look great as they are, and will be much appreciated in the Norwegian winter.

2013-09-26 15.04.42

I also made something similar for my 13 month old grandson, but he wouldn’t keep it on his head long enough to take a photo, so it may be some time before he wears it.

About a month ago, I found a lovely wool shop in Kinsale, and saw, and instantly fell in love with this gorgeous red wool, it’s called Can Can Disco, doesn’t the colour remind you of Christmas time?   I had never seen this type of lacy knitting before, it’s called ribbon yarn, the lady in the shop kindly gave me a demonstration on how to knit with it, and it is very simple, only takes 7 stitches, and one ball of wool.   I  have passed it on to my daughter to brighten up her winter wardrobe!  Maybe I will make another one for myself, as this one only took a few hours.

Christmas Red

Christmas Red

My next project is some wrist warmers, I found lots of lovely patterns on Ravelry.com, and chose the Irish Hiking Wrist Warmers pattern, for a quick and easy knit. I am somewhat impatient, so love all these patterns that grow so quickly,and are finished in no time!

This is the way to do it!

She is learning fast.

I am trying to pass on my little bit of knitting knowledge, so I am showing my 7 year old granddaughter the basics of knitting, now that I am back home, I hope that she will keep practising, and we will have another ‘scarf knitter’ before too long!

2013-08-21 10.39.59

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen McGrath
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 11:33:37

    I loved this return to long ago simple pleasures. Great to pass on to the next generation too. I dream of returning to some simple sewing when I retire someday. Good job Joan.

    Like

    Reply

  2. janeykate
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 12:58:47

    it’s brilliant that you are teaching your granddaughter to knit Joan. My mum taught me when I was little, we used to spend many happy hours together on the sofa, needles clicking! It’s how these skills are passed on, and knitting is having a bit of a revival at the moment. It’s so lovely to receive a gift that someone has taken the time and effort to make.
    Jane x

    Like

    Reply

  3. mrsgillies
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 11:54:32

    My Mum has got into knitting with the ribbon yarn. She is making many scarves and she doesn’t even wear scarves! She just loves to knit with that particular yarn.

    Like

    Reply

  4. wildsherkin
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 14:40:33

    Such a gorgeous image of you and your granddaughter – I am sure that happy, peaceful moment will always stay with her. Your red scarf is just gorgeous. I’ve just completed a similar project but was driven to distraction by the yarn twisting…just wondered if that happened to you too? Patsy

    Like

    Reply

  5. jotsfromasmallapt
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 13:30:40

    My daughter and I laugh over my attempts at knitting…seems I don’t sit down long enough to finish a project. However, recently paid a wadge of money for some lovely dark teal wool for a jumper. Too much invested to let it sit…so it may actually get finished!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear what you think!

Ready to Live Longer

How to Embrace the Challenges of a Long Life.

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks and Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Bedlam & Daisies

Seeking the beauty in the midst of chaos

Life at Her Brightest

by Anna Trestain

