Dublin on a Chilly Sunday Morning.


Dublin can be Heaven, with Coffee at Eleven

And a Stroll in Stephens Green

No Need to Hurry, No Need to Worry,

You’re a King and the Lady’s a Queen

Grafton Street’s a Wonderland

There’s Magic in the Air

There are Diamonds in the Lady’s Eyes

and Gold-dust in Her Hair

And if you Don’t Believe Me, Come and Meet Me There

in Dublin on a Sunny Sunday Morning

This song, also called the Dublin Saunter,  was first recorded in 1940 by a well known Irish actor, Noel Purcell, and was written by Leo Maguire.   You can listen to the song, sung by Paddy Reilly,who sang with the Dubliners for a few years,  here.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Silver Voice
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 22:25:00

    Beautifully captured – I love to see photos of ‘ordinary’ places that we enjoy and often take for granted. Thank you !

    Like

    Reply

  2. iheartpolrbears
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 22:27:17

    Looks like a fun day. Amazing photos.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Livonne
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 23:01:20

    Oh Joan.. thank you for these photos.. I can’t wait to see it for myself.. and I love the song too.. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. Rebecca - 353 Photography
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 23:35:04

    Ah lovely but I need to catch the7:44 to Mayo. Maybe I will be lucky a. Catch this fabulous coffee!

    Like

    Reply

  5. KerryCan
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 00:09:18

    I love that song and the idea of Dublin on a Sunday! I’ll be back next fall!

    Like

    Reply

  6. safia
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 10:03:13

    Ah, Grafton Street and Bewleys’ Oriental Café – lovely photos, Joan and I’d never heard the song before. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. Ronnie mcGinn
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 19:07:00

    It makes me want to go there

    Like

    Reply

  8. Roy McCarthy
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 21:56:16

    Nice appreciation Joan, and what an evocative song. No recession at BT I notice 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  9. aj vosse
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 13:28:31

    I think I shall go for a chilly afternoon stroll! Dublin here I come… maybe? 😉

    Like

    Reply

  10. Capt Jill
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 21:21:30

    It looks like a great time to visit. I was there in January a few years ago and had a really good time. I wish I could have stayed longer. I could say the same thing for everywhere we went in Ireland. Thanks for the nice photos! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear what you think!

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks and Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

Sonya Lira

Texas style photography and words

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Bedlam & Daisies

A mom seeking her path in the midst of chaos and beauty

Life at Her Brightest

by Anna Trestain

