The Lace Makers of the Mountains


spiders webs in the mist

spiders webs in the mist

Yesterday we went on a hike in the Knockmealdown mountains, between County Waterford and County Tipperary.   On the way there was a lot of fog and mist, which burned off in the heat (yes, heat in October) of the day.     There were so many spiders’ webs in the hedges, looking like delicate lace hanging by a thread from the blades of grass.

2014-10-12 15.26.30

Even though the mist lifted, we could still see the low clouds in the distance, sitting over the Golden Vale between us on the Knockmealdown Mountains, and the Galtee Mountains in the distance.

It was a strenuous day, but worth it for being out in the sunshine with beautiful scenery.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Silver Voice
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 13:49:37

    Delighted you are out there gathering beautiful pictures for us in our wonderfully warm autumn!

    Like

    Reply

  2. janeykate
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 13:46:47

    I love the cobweb photo’s Joan! Hope things are good with you 🙂
    Jane x

    Like

    Reply

    • joanfrankham
      Oct 14, 2014 @ 13:59:56

      hello, how are you, all well here, hope you are the same. Are you blogging?
      Joan

      Like

      Reply

      • janeykate
        Nov 11, 2014 @ 23:58:17

        Hello Joan, sorry for late reply! I’m really good thank you, I’m not blogging any more though. I guess blogging for me was an outlet for the the things I was having trouble dealing with. Looking back on some of the things I wrote, I can’t believe that was me. Life is so much better now!
        I hope you are well too!
        Love, Jane xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • joanfrankham
        Nov 12, 2014 @ 07:43:03

        Glad to hear all is well.

        Like

I would love to hear what you think!

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks and Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

Sonya Lira

Texas style photography and words

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Bedlam & Daisies

A mom seeking her path in the midst of chaos and beauty

Life at Her Brightest

by Anna Trestain

