Weekly Photo Challenge : Reward


Today hasn’t been the nicest of days here, misty, windy, cold, foggy, all in the space of a few hours.  The daffodils are starting to bloom, and I am looking forward to March and the promise of better weather!    I thought to myself, what can I make to warm me up…and immediately thought of my favourite soup, which I haven’t made for ages – French Onion Soup.   The whole thing takes about an hour, but the finished product is well worth the reward – I have tasted it and it’s delicious.  Now why haven’t I made it for so long?

Lots of tears while chopping onions.

Lots of tears while chopping onions.

Firstly, I had to chop up four onions, the recipe called for six, but four was all I had, after drying my eyes, and heating the olive oil in a saucepan, these had to be fried gently for about 10 minutes, taking care that they didn’t burn.

long way to go

long way to go

Then I added a teaspoon of sugar and some salt to help with the caramelisation and browning, and stirred, and stirred…careful they don’t stick to the bottom.   There seemed to be so little onions left at this stage!   They are getting browner though, and soon it was time to add in some chopped garlic, cook for another minute, and then add some dry white wine, thyme, bay leaf and about a litre and a half of stock.

Getting there

Getting there

Then put the lid on and simmer very gently for another 10 or 15 minutes, and voila!    It tastes delicious and is a great reward for the waiting, and waiting, with a rumbling tummy.

Job done.

Job done.

Here is a link to the recipe I used.

Linked to Weekly Photo Challenge : Reward

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JanetRimmington
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 17:41:37

    How funny! I was thinking the same thing…. hungry for French Onion Soup. In fact, I’m just back from picking up the ingredients. Seems we are on the same page 🙂 Bon Appitite!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. seeker
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 18:38:34

    Love onion soup with cheese on top. It’s worth the tears. What substitute can I use for wine? Thank you for the recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. jenniferbgraham
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 19:28:21

    French onion soup is one of my favourite winter comfort foods. I like to sink a thick slice of good french bread topped with cheese melted under the broiler.

    @ Seeker: Perhaps a tablespoon of good balsamic vinegar instead of wine? Love your headgear, EH 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. Tina Schell
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 20:10:49

    I’m all about the bread and gruyere on top tho!! Yours is too healthy for me LOL!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. dendymactoodle
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 17:08:41

    Yum yum. Thank you for step-by-step pics.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Claire Smith
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 11:55:49

    I bet it smelled amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. gustasp and jeroo
    Mar 29, 2015 @ 10:29:43

    Looks delicious. Can almost taste it!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Trackback: A Delightful Surprise [“Risking Exposure”; a paperback gift from the author] | Ramisa the Authoress

I would love to hear what you think!

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks and Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

Sonya Lira

Texas style photography and words

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Bedlam & Daisies

A mom seeking her path in the midst of chaos and beauty

Life at Her Brightest

by Anna Trestain

