Can we have 2 G and T’s please!


We were in Malta recently for my daughter’s wedding, and on one of the evenings before the wedding, a few of us went for an early dinner at a local restaurant in St. Julians called Sardinella.   As it was just after 6 p.m., my friend and I decided it was time to have a little drink before dinner, so when the waitress came over, we decided to have our usual ‘tipple of choice’.   ‘Can we have 2 G and T’s please’, I said and off she went.

 

Drinks anyone?

Drinks anyone?

We could only laugh when she came back….with two beautiful cups and a matching glass teapot, …..filled with TEA!!  Not quite what we had in mind.

Something got lost in translation, I think, so after that we made sure to ask for ‘Gin and Tonic’ and so we enjoyed the rest of our nights out.

Have you ever had a similar experience?

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ledrakenoir
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 06:25:31

    Yeah not all “nicknames” follows around the world – and sometimes surprises… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Tieme
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 09:14:59

    Beautiful Malta! Congratulations on the wedding!

    And yeah.. G & T isn’t a global thing I guess 😉

    Happy weekend!
    Tieme

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jean Reinhardt
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 12:52:08

    Oh yes, I had a similar experience, only it was in Ireland and speaking English, no translation necessary. I asked for cod and chips but when I arrived home and opened the bag the fish was missing and there was a tub of curry sauce in its ‘plaice’ (pardon the pun). My Dublin pronunciation of ‘cod an chips’ must have sounded more like ‘curried chips’ to the ears of the Cork individual who took my order. To make matters worse, I was sharing the takeaway with my husband, as the fish and chip portions in that particular establishment are very generous. 😮

    Like

    Reply

  4. duncanr
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 14:47:21

    by a funny coincidence, I posted a comment on another blog yesterday, recounting an incident where my attempt to speak french (with a Scottish accent), when ordering a meal, resulted in an unusual dish being served to me

    check out this post, and my comment on it 😆

    http://bunkaryudo.com/anniversary/#comments

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Livonne
    Aug 03, 2015 @ 22:25:14

    that made me laugh, but really, anything would taste good with that view 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear what you think!

Ready to Live Longer

How to Embrace the Challenges of a Long Life.

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks and Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Bedlam & Daisies

Seeking the beauty in the midst of chaos

Life at Her Brightest

by Anna Trestain

