A Trip to the Yellow and Blue Building


Shopping bag anyone?

Shopping bag anyone?

I was in Dublin a few days ago and went for the first time to the only Ikea in Ireland,

and came home with a few things that I never even knew I wanted, or needed!

Such is the power of this giant, that it enticed me in, gave me the loan of a big yellow shopping bag,

laid out all it’s wares in so many different rooms,

bedrooms fit for a king, or a princess

bathrooms,

living rooms with comfy couches that looked so inviting in their warm colours,IMG_0269

kitchens full of modern devices and space saving ideas,

dining rooms,

whole apartments smaller than my living room with everything to make life comfortable,

and did I mention the bookcases…every combination of cubes and squares to fit every corner of my house,

and, and, and….

By the time I had walked through all these wonderful rooms,

decided not to stop for Swedish meatballs,

and with my mind totally confused, and still clutching my empty yellow bag,

I came to the Market Hall,

And here they were, every conceivable gadget and labour saving device, small enough to fit in my yellow bag

and fully assembled and ready for use.

So I picked up a few kitchen aids, a garlic crusher,

a roll of some kind of bubble wrap guaranteed to keep my pots and pans sitting quietly on their shelf till they are called upon to do their duty,

enough serviettes to hold a lot of finger food if I ever throw a party,

Party time

Party time

some brightly coloured pop up storage thingys,

a duvet set,

some pillows,

long handled shoe horns (for when I get old(er) and can no longer put my shoes on without assistance)

and maybe a few more totally necessary bits and pieces!

Now I am usually a fairly ‘sensible’ shopper, making a list, if only in my head, but faced with such a vast array of goods, what’s a girl to do, especially on my first visit!

That’s my excuse anyway.

Now to get busy with sorting out those noisy pots and pans!

P.S.   I just looked on the Ikea website, and the first piece of advice they give ‘before you go’   MAKE A LIST!!  

Oh well, it was fun!

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roly Andrews
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 23:35:28

    When I lived in London – I wanted to move in and live in Ikea – it was infinitely better than my damp and dark maisonette. I had a fantasy of moving into rooms everyday. Maybe one day they will come to Nelson!

    Like

    Reply

  2. tric
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 23:39:02

    Haha. The fear has kept me away, but my brother is a regular.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 23:52:21

    Thanks for the tips, Joan. Canberra IKEA is set to open soon. Let me know if your noisy pots and pans quietening down.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • joanfrankham
      Aug 29, 2015 @ 07:25:45

      Go straight to Market Hall with your shopping list, the showrooms just make you wish you had won the lotto and could build a new place from scratch, incorporating all those wonderful ideas!

      Like

      Reply

  4. sonyaliraphotography
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 00:55:56

    I love Ikea, but I like to spend hours in there. Now that they have a lot of stuff online I have used that a few times because even paying shipping I come out ahead not seeing all that’s in the store I might want.

    Like

    Reply

    • joanfrankham
      Aug 29, 2015 @ 07:20:38

      Good idea, saves on shoe leather also…and frayed nerves.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • sonyaliraphotography
        Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:19:37

        They have some spice racks that attach to the wall. Last time was there I bought 6 of them to use for my acrylic bottle paint and it works great in my craft room. I have their magazine holders in my office some I painted and some I left black or white. I have their flat boxes on my shelves in the office for storage. They have some great storage things that look nice at a good price.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. eths
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 02:27:19

    I think a person could live at Ikea – if they weren’t caught.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. BunKaryudo
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 06:40:55

    We sometimes go to Ikea, but all we ever seem to buy there is a ton of cheap but delicious chocolate bars with little chips of almond in them. I suppose if we bought enough of them and hammered them together we could make a small bookcase or something.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Jean Reinhardt
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 13:09:03

    The first time we went to Ikea, we spent so long looking around the furniture on display (we were looking for a sofa) that by the time we made our way downstairs to pay for what we wanted, the store was not far off closing. That’s when we discovered all the gadgets we didn’t know were there. So we had to rush around looking for the shelving we had chosen. Great fun that was. We tried not to be tempted by the fabulous layouts in-store, when selecting a sofa. Although we searched everywhere in Cork, nearer to home, we did end up going back to Ikea to buy one from them in the end (plus quite a few gadgets).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. mithriluna
    Aug 31, 2015 @ 02:34:03

    Fun post! No matter where you are in the world, a trip to Ikea is dangerous! Next time you go, you must have the meatballs. They really are very delicious and inexpensive (at least here in NJ).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. anwyn84
    Aug 31, 2015 @ 08:48:06

    Sigh…… i love ikea. any chance to go i used when i was living in the uk. It is one of the things i miss the most now in here in New Zealand and its so expensive!

    Like

    Reply

  10. the dune mouse
    Aug 31, 2015 @ 23:20:03

    I was so disappointed when we lost Ikea in Victoria on Vancouver Island. My daughter’s bedroom was Ikea!!

    Like

    Reply

    • joanfrankham
      Sep 01, 2015 @ 06:36:46

      What a loss. I hear Victoria is a lovely place. I have two nephews and their families there.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • the dune mouse
        Sep 02, 2015 @ 14:21:51

        do visit some time!! 🙂 it is lovely and very green like Ireland! What I love is trees and the different trees each region has. We have an abundance of trees here and a lot of evergreen- the giant douglas fir are impressive! – I loved all the varieties in Killarney National Park!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Regina Martins
    Sep 02, 2015 @ 17:31:19

    I’d always wanted to go to Ikea and unfortunately (or maybe fortunately for the bank account) there isn’t one in South Africa. So I made sure that the next time I visited Portugal, that I went to one. So my Mom and I went and spent the better part of a day browsing. It was a lot of fun and next time I go to Portugal I will certainly pay the obligatory visit. Fun post 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  12. OyiaBrown
    Sep 04, 2015 @ 12:16:30

    Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

    Like

    Reply

  13. gillswriting
    Sep 21, 2015 @ 16:53:47

    Hah that is so funny that I will confess! When visiting IKEA in Norway with my son I ended up buying things I couldn’t live without to bring back to Tanzania. Completely inappropriate haha. Thanks for finding my blog and introducing yours xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  14. Claremary P. Sweeney
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 04:53:22

    I love Ikea. I could wander around for days. But your Irish store is so much bigger and brighter than our boxy New England variety!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  15. Trackback: Featured Bloggers 2/15/16: Networking 101 | Dream Big, Dream Often
  16. garym6059
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 18:34:08

    I just visited my first IKEA a couple of weekends ago, it’s not just a shopping trip it’s an experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear what you think!

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks and Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

Sonya Lira

Texas style photography and words

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Bedlam & Daisies

A mom seeking her path in the midst of chaos and beauty

Life at Her Brightest

by Anna Trestain

Hello Cork

Your life must be an open city, with all sorts of ways to wander in - Robin Sloane

