Bantry House and Gardens in West Cork


During Heritage Week at the end of August, we visited Bantry House in West Cork.   This is a private estate with an 18th century mansion which was the seat of the Earls of Bantry, and which has been in the same family since 1765.

We had  a guided tour of the house, which was given by one of the family, who grew up in this magnificent house, with it’s winding staircases, Aubisson tapestries from the time of Marie Antoinette, paintings and sculptures brought back to Ireland by the ancestors on their travels through Europe, and wallpapers, furniture and furnishings from the 1800s, that are still in use today.

Unfortunately, we were not allowed to take photographs in the house, but we enjoyed a stroll around the magnificent gardens,.  The gardens have seven terraces which overlook Bantry Bay, with many statues and pots brought back from travels in Europe by previous Earls.   There is also a wonderful maze, two stable blocks, one of which has been restored, and work is ongoing on the second one, and there are 100 steps behind the house which lead to the upper gardens.   From the top of these steps there is a great view of the house and the bay beyond.

The house and garden are well worth a visit if you are ever in Bantry, in West Cork, and there is a tearoom and a terrace where you can sit and enjoy views like this of the bay.

Bantry Bay in the evening sun

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CadyLuck Leedy
    Sep 14, 2015 @ 15:29:21

    Joan, loved this post. I love county estates and gardens, as you probably know. I will be making the trip to Ireland again. I had my DNA tested and I was surprised about the results. I am not who I thought I was! My Irish heritage was number 2 and a big percentage at that! I was quite surprised. So I will have to go back farther in that line of folks. Although I think my roots came from Northern Ireland, a trip to Cork shall be added to my list. Thanks for the posts on Cork!

    Like

    Reply

  2. BunKaryudo
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 07:49:48

    Can’t help but notice Bantry House shares some significant similarities my home (windows, doors, etc.), but there are also one or two minor differences.

    I hope you had a nice time walking around the place. Stately homes, castles, palaces — I love visiting anything like that.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Charlotte Hoather
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 20:20:06

    I would love to visit Ireland, it’s where half my Dads family originated. Lovely photos

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear what you think!

Livonne Imagery

Awaken the Dreaming

Bantinginireland

Find out how you can eat fat and lose weight.

Forty Things...

A blog dedicated to achieving 40 things before my 40th birthday.

Ready to Live Longer

How to Embrace the Challenges of a Long Life.

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks in Ireland | Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

You can find me in a Book or a Make Up store!

sonyahlira.wordpress.com/

Texas style, words and photography.

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

