A Trip down Memory Lane


Who remembers these old tin advertising signs?    We came across these ones in a bar at a wedding venue recently, they are very quirky and a good talking point over a few beers!

Cigarette anyone

Cigarette anyone?

I never smoked, but I remember Gold Flake cigarettes, they didn’t even have filter tips, and I am sure were very strong smelling, as well as having almost pure tobacco in them…..wouldn’t even be allowed in today’s health conscious world.

wp-1477426864917.jpg

I can remember these exact sandals from my childhood, same colour, same design.   I wonder if they are still being made today?   Sometimes if you were very lucky, you got them in red leather…what a treat!

wp-1477426881363.jpg

Who remembers Reckitts Blue, a little square of blue that our mothers added to the weekly wash to make our whites whiter!   It really worked, and I have read that it was a similar product that our grandmothers used as a ‘blue rinse’in their grey hair!  If you are too young to remember, you can read about this magic solution here.

And last but not least –

wp-1477426820441.jpg

 

I love the caption on this one ‘LAUGHS at danger from disease’  Hahaha!  It was probably something like Jeyes Fluid, foul smelling and a danger to human skin!   The small print says it can be used on dogs and other animals (but not cats)    Might have been slightly toxic!

I hope you have enjoyed looking at these old signs, have you come across any of these?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. socialbridge
    Oct 28, 2016 @ 15:50:09

    Ah yes, the sandals – never red for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. sultanabun
    Oct 28, 2016 @ 16:05:08

    I love them! I’ve been trying to get my hands on some but the originals are near impossible to find. I do remember the smell of Gold Flakes! Memory and smell have a funny relationship, don’t they?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Sue (Mac's Girl)
    Oct 28, 2016 @ 16:47:07

    I remember my mum using Reckitt’s Blue in the wash. Thanks for the memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. lynne hoareau
    Oct 29, 2016 @ 15:25:02

    This is so fascinating. I personally remember seeing a Mills yellow cigarette tin when I was small. My mom had kept it in her kist. My mom was not a smoker so only can imagine it belonged to her mom her gran. Lovely post, thanks for the memory 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear what you think!

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Glebe House Garden

My week to week gardening diary

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Destination: everywhere

Finland, travel, food, sailing and everything in between

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Adrian Evans Photography

Sunsets, Landscape, Seascape, Architecture, Vintage, Religious themes and Long Exposure #adrianevans

Take A Hike

Walks and Hikes in Ireland

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

Sonya Lira

Texas style photography and words

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and occasional written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

My First 10,000 Photos

Capturing What Inspires

El espacio de Chus

Un blog de rebote

Bedlam & Daisies

A mom seeking her path in the midst of chaos and beauty

Life at Her Brightest

by Anna Trestain

