Travel Theme : The Four Elements


Thanks to Ailsa at Where’s my backpack, for the latest weekly challenge.   Here is my take on The Four Elements:

Image

Norwegian Wood

My Earth photo was taken in Norway at the beginning of  winter 2009, when I visited for my grand-daughter’s first birthday. There was a little snow, but by Norwegian standards, it was hardly worth mentioning!

The second Element is Air, and I have 2 photographs for this.  They were taken on a windy day in Howth harbour, looking out at Ireland’s Eye, it was cold and looks like the heavens are about to open in the second photo, even though in the first one (taken a few minutes earlier) the day looks almost pleasant!

Image

The storm is brewing - time to go inside for a cuppa!

The storm is brewing – time to go inside for a cuppa!

For my Water element, I am moving to another country again, and showing you 2 photos of the Zambezi river thundering over the gorge at Victoria Falls, this is one of my favourite places to visit.

The Devil's Cataract at Victoria Falls

The Devil’s Cataract at Victoria Falls

Water and spray at Victoria Falls

Water and spray at Victoria Falls

And for my final element-Fire – my first photo is that Fiery Ball in the sky, which warms us all from millions of light years away, and gives us energy, makes us happy, and makes us sad when we can’t see it.

The Fire of Life

The Fire of Life

and finally, my own cosy winter fire that keeps me warm when the sun has gone away on a winter break.

Come sit by the fire.

Come sit by the fire.

http://wheresmybackpack.com/2013/05/17/travel-theme-four-elements/

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth2Day
    May 18, 2013 @ 07:55:22

    great photos and interpretations. Your fire is just what I need in the evenings right now. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Ajaytao2010
    May 24, 2013 @ 08:05:57

    I Nominate you for a Bouquet of Awards – 11 Nominations

    Please Choose any 2 of the 11 awards
    please accept it and oblige

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/05/23/a-bouquet-of-awards-11-nominations/

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: A Bouquet of Awards – 11 Nominations | Ajaytao 2010

I would love to hear what you think!

Rebel Bee

Musings from a small scale-bee keeper

violetonlineisonline

Violet Online sex dating relationships politics feminism world stuff love

Livonne Imagery

Awaken the Dreaming

Bantinginireland

Find out how you can eat fat and lose weight.

Balance

Everything in life is balance...

Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

Take A Hike

Walks in Ireland | Hikes in Ireland

helenebrennan

My paintings, photos and some written thoughts about my images. www.helene-brennan.com

Le Chic En Rose

Diaries of an independent traveller

Hello Cork

Your life must be an open city, with all sorts of ways to wander in - Robin Sloane

The Nature of Things

A blog dedicated to flora, fauna and all the wonderful things in nature.

thefidgetyfoodie

not your average food & travel blog

Gimme The Recipe - You came for the food now stay for the romance!

Irish Blog full of easy recipes & a little romance - by Irish Author - Sheila Kiely

travelswithdiane Blog

It's a big beautiful world, let's get out there and explore it!

London Wlogger

Walking blogger exploring London's hidden gems, parks, bridges, landmarks, sights and history!